Faculty Leadership

Faculty Leadership

Shaped by our people - inspired by our leaders

Daniel Haas


Daniel Haas, B.Sc., D.D.S., B.Sc.D., Ph.D., F.R.C.D.(C)

Dean Haas currently holds the Zwingenberger Decanal Chair and has a cross-appointment with the Department of Pharmacology in the Faculty of Medicine.

He received a BSc (with Honours), a DDS, a BScD (Anaesthesia) and a PhD (Pharmacology) all from the University of Toronto.  In 1991 he was named a Fellow of the Royal College of Dentists of Canada. 

His scholarship has been recognized internationally with the receipt of numerous major awards: the International Association for Dental Research Distinguished Scientist Award for Pharmacology/ Therapeutics/Toxicology research (2004); the Heidbrink Award from the American Dental Society of Anesthesiology (2007); and the Leonard Monheim Distinguished Service Award of the American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists for contributions to anesthesiology.  He has been the only Canadian to win each of these awards. In 2016, Dean Haas was the recipient of the Canadian Dental Association Honorary Membership Award.

Professor Haas is also the recipient of a number of teaching awards including: 15 Dental Students Society Teaching Awards; the A. Bruce Hord Master Teacher Award (1991 and 2000); and the W.W. Wood Award for Excellence in Dental Education (2005).¬† From 1998 ‚Äď 2013 he was the director of the graduate program for the specialty of dental anesthesiology.

He is the immediate past-President of the Association of Canadian Faculties of Dentistry, and has played an active role with other organizations, including the National Dental Examining Board of Canada, the Royal College of Dentists of Canada, and the American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists.

View Dean Haas’ academic profile here.



Jim Yuan Lai

Vice-Dean, Education 

Jim Yuan Lai  B.Sc., D.M.D., M.Sc. (Perio), Ed.D., F.R.C.D.(C)

With a background that spans education, research and dentistry practice, Dr. Lai oversees the educational mission of both the graduate and undergraduate programs at the Faculty of Dentistry. 

In 2002, Dr. Lai was inducted as a Fellow into the Royal College of Dentists of Canada; this was followed by a Fellowship in the Pierre Fauchard Academy International Honor Dental Organization (2004), the International College of Dentists (2005), and the American College of Dentists (2006). He has also been the recipient of the Golden Jubilee Medal (2002) as well as the Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012)

View Dr. Lai’s academic profile here.



Bernhard Ganss

Vice-Dean, Research

Bernhard Ganss, B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D.

Vice-Dean Research, Professor Bernhard Ganss, passionately promotes and supports the faculty’s research mission. Dr. Ganss also actively pursues his own research program on the identification and characterization of (novel) regulators of gene transcription in mineralized connective tissue, working out of the internationally-renowned Matrix Dynamics research group at the Faculty. In 2013, Dr. Ganss was awarded the International Association of Dental Research (IADR) /GSK Innovation in Oral Care Award.

View Professor Ganss’ academic profile here.



Laura Tam

Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education

Laura Tam, D.D.S., M.Sc.

Working closely with the Vice-Dean, Education, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education, Dr. Tam oversees the DDS and IDAPP programs.

As Director of the Comprehensive Care program, Dr. Laura Tam ensures that DDS candidates receive comprehensive professional training. Her¬†research in restorative dentistry explores short and long-term effects of wear and tear on restorative dental materials ‚Äď for example, the effects of saliva on dentin-resin.

View Dr. Tam's academic profile here.



Ernest Lam

Associate Dean, Graduate Education

Ernest Lam, B.Sc. (Hons.), D.M.D., M.Sc., Cert. O.M.R., Ph.D., Dip. A.B.O.M.R., F.R.C.D.(C)

Associate Dean, Graduate Education, Dr. Ernest Lam, works with the Vice-Dean, Education, to ensure the quality of the graduate and graduate specialty programs offered at the Faculty.  With MSc, PhD, and graduate specialty programs in all ten of the recognized dental specialties, the Faculty’s graduate programming is uniquely comprehensive.

In addition to his role as Associate Dean, Graduate Education, Dr. Lam is also the Program Director for the Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology graduate program. A Fellow of the Royal College of Dentists of Canada in Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, Dr. Lam has served the College as an Examiner and the Chief Examiner for Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, Councilor representing Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, and Treasurer.  Dr. Lam is also a Diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, and has served as an Examiner in his capacity as a Director of the Board, Secretary/Treasurer and President. He has published widely on the subject of oral radiology.

View Dr. Lam’s academic profile here.



James Posluns

Director of Clinical Affairs

James Posluns, B.Sc., D.D.S., D. Ortho, M.Ed., F.R.C.D.(C)

From safety to Access to Care funding for patients, Dr. Posluns oversees the operation of each of the Faculty’s 14 clinics (294 chairs) and its staff. As well as being an expert in clinical matters, Dr. Posluns is a practicing orthodontist.

View Dr. Posluns’ academic profile here.





Mary Choi

Assistant Dean, Administration

Mary Choi, M.Ed, CPA CA

Formerly the Chief Administrative Officer for Woodsworth College and Director of Administration and Finance (University of Toronto Schools), Assistant Dean Mary Choi guides the Faculty’s financial planning and expenditures.

Visit Mary Choi's Staff profile. 





Selina Esteves

Director of Advancement

Selina Esteves

Selina oversees the alumni relations and fundraising program at the Faculty, and focuses on philanthropic giving, sponsorship and the student, alumni and donor experience.

Visit Selina Esteves's Staff profile. 



Chris Swayze

Director, Continuing Dental Education

Chris Swayze, MBA, DDS, HBSc

With an extensive background in dental regulation and professional development, Dr. Swayze oversees the Continuing Dental Education program at the Faculty of Dentistry. As well as being an expert in continuing education, Dr. Swayze is also an expert in infection prevention and control and involved in the development of national standards and guidelines.

View Dr. Swayze’s full academic profile here.

Anil Kishen

Graduate Coordinator

Anil Kishen, B.D.S., M.D.S., Ph.D.

Former head of the Discipline of Endodontics and celebrated researcher (Professor Kishen has over 200 peer-reviewed publications and is a co-inventor in 10 patents and invention disclosures), Professor Kishen promotes the collaboration between basic research and clinical practice to solve clinical problems. Working closely with the Associate Dean, Graduate Education, the Graduate & Postgraduate Committee, and the Registrar’s office, as Graduate Coordinator Professor Kishen serves as an important resource for graduate students.

View Dr. Kishen’s full academic profile here.


For more information on the Faculty’s leadership and community, please visit our staff and faculty lists, or see the latest Faculty Calendar.